كيف يمكن لك تغيير التغيير المناخي؟

تساهم نشاطاتنا اليومية في حدوث ظاهرة التغيير المناخي، وإذا كنا مدركين لتأثير هذه النشاطات على البيئة لكنا سارعنا في تغيير سلوكياتنا اليومية بشكل إيجابي يسهم في الحد من ظاهرة التغيير المناخي.

غازات الدفيئة (GHGs)

تعتبر غازات الدفيئة مكوناً أساسياً من مكونات الكرة الأرضية، ومن ضمن هذه الغازات غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون والميثان وأحادي أكسيد ثنائي النتروجين، ولغازات الدفيئة دور هام في حفظ الحرارة المستمدة من الشمس لتبقى الأرض مكان أمناً ومناسباً نعيش فيه.

ولكننا نقوم بزيادة معدل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة في الغلاف الجوي نتيجةً لاستهلاكنا المتزايد للوقود الإحفوري، فعلى سبيل المثال فإن معظم الطاقة المنتجة في عُمان تعتمد على الغاز الطبيعي وهو من الوقود الإحفوري، ونحن نستهلك هذه الطاقة أثناء تأدية كافة نشاطاتنا اليومية مثل قيادة السيارات واستخدام الحواسيب الآلية والسفر في الطائرات وتسخين المياه وغيرها الكثير.

وبالتالي فإن زيادة نسبة انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة تؤدي إلى زيادة الحرارة ضمن الغلاف الجوي، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى مشاكل بيئية مثل الاحتباس الحراري والتغيير المناخي، وهذا الأخير له أثار ونتائج منها ارتفاع درجات الحرارة، زيادة وتيرة وقوة العواصف (جونو وفيت) وزيادة الأنواء المناخية الغير إعتيادية.

أثر تغير المناخ

ولضمان الوصول إلى الحد الأدنى من مساهمتنا الفردية في انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة لا بد لنا من الحد من استهلاك الطاقة، ولا يتم هذا إلا من خلال سلوكيات واعية مثل إطفاء الأنوار في الغرف الخالية وضبط المكيفات على درجات الحرارة المناسبة وعدم استخدامها إلا عند الحاجة لها واستهلاك المياه على قدر حاجتنا فقط واستخدام المصابيح الموفرة للطاقة والحد من استخدام السيارات وغيرها الكثير.

تتأثر كافة الأنواع والأجناس بالتغيير المناخي، فالشعب المرجانية مثلاً تبييض نتيجة لارتفاع درجات حرارة الماء السطحية مما يؤدي بالتالي لضياع الموائل الطبيعية لكثير من الأحياء البحرية، وستفقد الدببة القطبية مواطنها الطبيعية قريباً عند ذوبان الجبال الجليدية القطبية، ويتعدى الأمر ليشمل البشر الذين من المتوقع أن يفقدوا مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي الساحلية نتيجةً لارتفاع منسوب البحار الناتج عن ارتفاع درجات الحرارة وذوبان الأنهار الجليدية وارتفاع منسوب المياه.

إن تضافر جهودنا الفردية البسيطة لتُكوّن عمل جماعي موحد ستؤدي حتماً إلى حماية المناخ من تغيير المناخ! الرجاء الضغط هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية توفير الطاقة ضمن مؤسساتكم

شارك أصدقائك

الرعاة الرئيسيين

الرعاة العينية

الشركاء الإعلاميين

HOW CAN YOU
CHANGE CLIMATE CHANGE?

Actions in our every day life contribute towards climate change. If we are conscious of how our activities impact the environment, then we can make positive differences in our every day activities to decrease our impact on climate change.

GREENHOUSE gASES (GHGs)

Green house gases (GHGs) are a natural component of our planet and includes gases such as carbon dioxide, methane and nitrous oxide. The earth gets heat from the sun and GHGs play an important role of trapping this heat which allows our planet to be warm enough for us to live and survive on.

However, we are increasing the amount of GHGs that are getting emitted into the atmosphere as a result of increasing demand and use of fossil fuels. The majority of Oman’s energy is generated from natural gas which is a fossil fuel. This powers activities in our day to day lives including; driving cars, using computers, flying on a plane, heating our water.

The increase in GHGs emissions increases the amount of heat that is trapped which also leads to environmental issues including global warming and climate change. Signs of climate change include increasing temperatures, more frequent and powerful storms (eg. Gonu and Phet) and more frequent extreme weather events.

IMPACT OF A CHANGING CLIMATE

The impact of a changing climate is influencing species such as coral reefs (increasing sea surface temperatures leading to coral bleaching) leading to loss of habitat for marine life, icebergs melting sooner (loss of polar bear habitat), and even impacts human beings (loss of coastal land as result of sea level rise - rising temperature, melting glaciers, higher levels of water).

In order to minimize our individual contributions to GHGs emissions we should work towards decreasing our energy consumption - this can be done by ensuring that we turn our lights off when we leave the room, setting our ACs to appropriate temperatures (or not using when not needed), only filling our tea kettle for the number of cups you plan on consuming, using energy efficient light bulbs, carpooling.

By working collectively, our little actions can make a big difference at changing climate change! Click here for more information on how you can save energy in your organisation!

share with your friends

Main Sponsors

(Partner)

Bronze Sponsors

In-Kind Sponsors

Media Partners